Chess is a recreational and competitive board game for two players. Each player initially has sixteen pieces: eight pawns, two horses, two bishops, two towers (or rocks), a king, and a queen.
Each type of piece has a unique and characteristic movement. In the world of chess, the queen and the towers are known as major pieces, and the bishops and horses as minor pieces. When a piece can be moved to a square in which an opposing piece is located, the latter is captured. Thus, the piece to be played moves to the opponent’s piece square, which is then removed from the board.
The relative difference in value between the pieces at different times in the game determines whether or not a catch is good. There is talk of “change” if there is a mutual capture between pieces of the same value, or of “sacrifice” if the capture of one’s own piece of more value than that which the rival gives in return is allowed (if any) .
A sacrifice is made to achieve a clear positional advantage or, often, in order to reach a position that allows the mat. The king is the only piece that can never be captured. The game ends when the checkpoint takes place, that is, the imminence of the king’s capture.
The chessboard is a square subdivided into 64 equal squares (8 × 8), also square, alternately light-colored and dark-colored. A player is placed facing the opponent, so that each player has a white square in his right corner. The chess clock Analog chess clock. This is a double stopwatch that measures the time each player spends thinking about their plays. 

Leave a comment